Judge NOT! (part 2)

So why DOES Matthew 7:1 say don’t judge? (did you miss part 1?)

If you read down to Matthew 7:5, Jesus says, “You hypocrite! Remove the log from your own eye then you will see more clearly to remove the speck from your brothers eye.” The rebuke is not against judging, but against judging with a puffed up, self righteous, attitude. The Pharisees and Sadducees had that kind of attitude where they looked down their noses at “those sinners” that Jesus ate with. The point is don’t put yourself up on a pedestal. And more than that, if you are living as a hypocrite, you don’t have the right to judge anything.

The problem is, that if you stand up to proclaim truth, or call sin what it is, no matter how humble you are, some are still call you self righteous. Or arrogant, I have heard that one too. In this post-modern world, people think that there is NO ONE that can know truth, so if you show any confidence in the Word of God, be prepared for people to try and shut you down by attacking your motive.

In John 7:24, Jesus says, “Judge not based on appearances, but judge righteous judgment.” I cannot judge motives or appearances, but I can judge actions. If you take my wallet and remove a single dollar, and I catch you, I have the right to call you a thief. In the same way, if you admit to me that you have told lies, then, by definition, I can say that you are a liar.

Something else I cannot judge is where someone will spend eternity, but if I know someone is not right with God, I can tell them that if they die in their sins, then God would be forced to give them justice and cast them into Hell forever. I don’t know if a person will use their last breath to repent and put their faith in Jesus Christ, but if I can determine that they are not trusting in Christ alone for their salvation, then I am not giving them my judgment, I am giving them God’s.

Here is an example: If I was witnessing to Howard Stern and there was not a radical change in his religious viewpoint, can I safely say that he is not a Christian? Then at that moment in time, I can tell Mr. Stern that God ‘s wrath abides on him, that he is an enemy of God in his mind through wicked works. I can tell him that unless he repents and puts his faith in Christ alone, he will end up in Hell. Oprah Winfrey has said that “there can possibly be just one way to God”, which puts her firmly outside the bounds of Christianity. If I were to talk with her and spiritual viewpoint is the same, I could tell her the same thing.

So the next time someone tells you shouldn’t be judging people, tell them “I’m not, I’m telling people how God is going to judge them.” And if you use the Law to bring the knowledge of sin, inevitably, someone is going to ask you, “have you done any of those things?” You can say, “I have broken every commandment in spirit if not in letter.”

–Danny

Published in: on November 18, 2008 at 4:53 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://speakupalittle.wordpress.com/2008/11/18/judge-not-part-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

