God centered VS. man centered

I was having a discussion with my wife at dinner last night about a post I made earlier about man-centered teaching and the tendency we have to be ME centered. We use phrases like “YOU have a God shaped hole in your heart that only God can fill” and “YOU need to make Jesus Lord and Savior”. We make ourselves the main point of Christianity, when it is not about us, but about God.

There is a song that has been out for awhile called Above All. The lyrics go like this: “like a rose, trampled on the ground, you took the fall, and thought of ME, above all”.

WoWWW! I love that song! It makes me feel soooo good! But its not right, it’s not about me? Don’t get me wrong, Jesus did go to the cross to redeem us, but does the Bible say anything else about why Jesus went to the cross? It does. In John 12, Jesus tells us his hour has come and in one four words explains why he goes to the cross. “Father, glorify your name.” (Jn 12:28) Jesus went to cross so that, first and foremost, God would be glorified.

There it is… God centered theology. I used to go witness because I wanted to see people saved. Wrong motive. When people rejected my message and scorned my Savior, I would feel defeated and hurt. Now when I go witness, I do it because I want to glorify God’s name. Do I still want to see people saved? Yep, but as a result, not my focus.

That is why it hurts my heart when I see churches with man-centered worship, like this church that did an electronic version of Simon Says for their Easter service.

Is your church man-centered?

–Danny

Published in: on October 16, 2008 at 7:46 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://speakupalittle.wordpress.com/2008/10/16/god-centered-vs-man-centered/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

